Post – Halloween Madness!

Not the band (although that’s good too).  The week.  The past two really, but this one especially.  Sheer and utter madness…

Aside from husband being snowed in “across the pond,” and the manic weekend with my favourite person in the whole world (Monkey-moo!!!), I just seemed to have run out of time for everything, or just had it go spectacularly pear-shaped.

No planned leftovers this week, managed to cancel my on-line shop and had to go to the grocery store, cat’s been rushed to the vet (it’s only a hairball – phew), little one had her first trick-or-treat (so cute), got in trouble at nursery (no telly time!), developed a strange rash, only two lots of trick-or-treators at the door, and I didn’t manage to post my second Halloween treat, so it’s now a post Halloween post:

They’re supposed to be creepy finger cookies, but they didn’t quite come out like I wanted – so instead of a failed recipe, I just called them

Smashed ogre-finger biscuits (based on Martha Stewart’s version)

  • 1.25 c sugar
  • 1c butter
  • 1 whole egg and 1 egg yolk
  • 1 tsp vanilla or almond flavour
  • 1.5 c flour
  • 1tsp baking powder
  • 0.25 tsp salt
  1. Preheat oven to 170C/350F
  2. Line a baking tray with greaseproof paper (I don’t think this is the same as wax paper…)
  3. In largish bowl, mix flour, baking powder and salt
  4. In smaller bowl, melt butter in microwave, then add sugar, eggs and vanilla
  5. Mix wet bowl into dry bowl to form a fairly stiff dough, then let it rest for about 20 minutes to firm up a bit more – keep it covered!
  6. Using your own finger as a guide, break off bits of the dough and mould into a finger shape.  Place on a lined baking tray
  7. Using the back of end of a teaspoon, press into the finger tip to create a nail bed
  8. Using a sharp knife, make slashes along the dough to create knuckle lines
  9. Bake for 10-20 minutes, depending on the thickness of your fingers
  10. Let cool on a wire rack
  11. decorate – I use sliced almonds for the nails, secured on with a bit of red writing icing

Things I’d do differently next time:

– the last time I did these, they came out a bit too finger like, and freaked some people out a bit – I used icing/ powdered sugar instead of regular sugar – I think this helped it hold its shape whilst cooking – so go this way for a more realistic biscuit

– if I’m going to go for splodge again, I think I should definitely add a bit of cocoa powder – then I’ll have chocolate almond flavoured poo (and for me, that is just about perfect Halloween eating)

I wish I could say it was time to turn my attention to Thanksgiving now, but alas, for some strange reason, that’s just not a big thing over in the UK.  Funny that.

 

4 responses to “Post – Halloween Madness!

  1. Spooky fingers! Bookmarking for next Hallowe’en. Like the way you adjust a recipe to get it the way you want it – and the fingernails are downright scary.

    (p.s. ref tomato tart I’d mix apple in if can’t get gooseberries. I think they need something to contrast the flavour)

  2. Those finger biscuits are so creepy… perfect for Halloween!
    These past couple of weeks have been manic here too. It’s amazing just how busy life can be… and I’m not even working at the moment!!
    I hope this week runs smoothly for you. Fingers crossed no more fur balls or cheeky kids 😉 xx

  3. Really fun cookies for Halloween. Glad I found a recipe for it. Will try and bake these next year for sure.

Leave a Reply

