Tuesdays are not Mondays

I once worked with a lovely lady who philosophised that Mondays are good, because you’ve still got that weekend thing going.  Wednesdays are nearly half way through the week – also good.  Thursday is nearly Friday, and Friday is simply Friday, but Tuesday – neither here nor there.  She’s not wrong…

So before I totally loose the will and the time and the memory – that’s a photo of Sunday night’s dinner (the majority of the week days are typically filled with leftovers – what do you expect from a full time working mom who works 50 miles away from home?!).  The intention was to use up what’s left in the garden, so baby courgettes and summer squashes and fennel, bulked out with carrots and potatoes (also from the garden).

Roasted Chicken With Vegetables – October variation!
-In a large ziploc bag, fill 3/4 way with assorted mixed veg – I parcooked the potato and carrot in the microwave before adding given the different cooking times required…
– Add Tony Catcheries (as much as your spice buds can stand), 1 OXO cube, crumbled, 1 tbs oil (I used rice bran oil), 1 tbs dijon mustard, a few splashes each of worcester sauce and balsamic vinegar.

Arrange in roasting tray, with 2kg of chicken drumsticks (value only!) on top, covered with sale, pepper and a bit of lemon juice.  Bake at 200 C for 40 minutes (depending on how you like your chicken done).

Eat.

Probably serves about 4 – or two hungry adults with leftovers for later 🙂

On the work front, things are not quite going my way, and I’m grateful for being an employee in the UK (I don’t know much about employment law in the US, so I can’t comment, but I think it’s a lot easier to get rid of people in other countries).  My boss, having previously claimed (multiple times) that she doesn’t care where I work or when I work so long as the work gets done, is now tinkering around with my working from home days, so it’s time to put in a formal flexible working application so she can’t change my schedule as quickly as she changes her shoes.  I’m always amazed at some people, and she proves to be no exception.  I do hope one day to work for someone who actually gets that I am half of a two parent household where both parents have fairly demanding jobs, but have to (and want to!) put the child first…  Unsurprisingly, this is not the first time I’ve had a problem with my flexible working, but this is the most arrogant, should I say?

Anywho, my little girl has had her feet in plaster casts for nearly 4 weeks now (because she tip toes – she’s not injured, and she’s actually kind of enjoyed it). They are coming off shortly (a few more days!)  and I can’t wait to see her little feet (much less clean them – you can only imagine!).

Her ballet lessons will just have to wait another year (which works for me as I didn’t get the pay rise I needed to afford them!)

Bring on happy hump day!

g

4 responses to “Tuesdays are not Mondays

  1. Yummy this recipe sounds delicious! Great blog you have, so glad to be a new follower! xoxo

  2. I’ve often said that Tuesdays are the WORST!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

